What a week! I never could have imagined the stress and excitement of leaving home and starting university. I have already done things I never dreamed I would, going out 4 nights in a row being one! But I can safely say I’ve had the most amazing experience.

My final day at home was the most hectic of my life so far… people to see, place to go, and a lot of packing to get done.

If you live in Oxfordshire or Warwickshire and have never been to Burton Dassett country park then you are missing out on one of the most lovely places to walk. Although the wind makes it hard to look attractive in front of my boyfriend, we certainly worked up an appetite and enjoyed the stunning views of the local area. To fill our grumbling stomachs, we ventured down the Warwick road to the Falcon. I have never been to a pub with a garden as lovely as this one and it’s well worth a visit on a sunny afternoon.

Saying goodbye to your family is always hard but in our house it is done in style with a good old take away fish and chip and a bottle of bubbly (maybe one to many!) The next morning was filled with nerves and excitement as I crammed the last bits into the less than comfortable car and headed off to university. Traffic jams and miss direction caused a slightly stressful start to the day but a cup of tea and a brownie made for a warm welcome. I can safely say I did not expect all my belongings to fit in my new room but to my surprise they did and home was all set up.

What better way to celebrate than to party! On our first night in our new home my flat mates and I bravely ventured out to the SU bar and, well, some of us made it back. Like nothing I’ve ever experienced at home, fire, stilt-walkers and confetti cannons filled the room. Having spent a grand total of £2.50 I can say for sure that I had a great first night…I feel there are many more to come…

Leave a Reply

